June 2, 2013

  • This Isn’t Goodbye

    Been seeing a lot of farewell/remembering Xanga posts lately. And others about how we shouldn’t give up and we should fight to keep Xanga around. I feel like I should be more upset than I actually am. I’ve really REALLY enjoyed my time on Xanga. I was reading blogs here long before I joined. And since I have, I have learned a lot, which is my favorite thing in the world. But at this time in my life, I have too many other battles I am facing to have much energy left for “fighting” to save Xanga. And far too many times in my life I have vested my heart and hopes in things that I knew were long shots and then my heart was broken. Maybe that’s why I just am taking more of a wait and see approach to all this. There are some really mean people on here that, should Xanga die, I won’t miss one bit. So many of the ones I really liked have already been chased away. Maybe that’s another reason this isn’t such a blow to me.  If Xanga dies, this won’t be the first time in my life I have been forced to close a chapter that I never wanted to end. And should Xanga survive, I’m hoping that we will be able to have more power to shut the mean ones down. They’re the biggest reason why Xanga is dying. And for those of you on here I dearly love, and you ought to know who you are by now, we are likely already friends on Facebook, and you already have my new WordPress account. This won’t be goodbye, even if Xanga sinks into the mist of used to be websites. 

     

    http://mtnmamma.wordpress.com/  ~ just in case you didn’t.  

     

    I found something that sums up how I feel about Xanga perfectly:

     

     

     

    Prelude

    I have eaten your bread and salt.
    I have drunk your water and wine.
    In deaths ye died I have watched beside,
    And the lives ye led were mine.

    Was there aught that I did not share
    In vigil or toil or ease, –
    One joy or woe that I did not know,
    Dear hearts across the seas?

    I have written the tale of our life
    For a sheltered people’s mirth,
    In jesting guise — but ye are wise,
    And ye know what the jest is worth.

     

     ~Rudyard Kipling

     

Comments (10)

  • I think I’m going to wordpress just to keep in touch with you guys. Everyone seems to be heading there.

    I also agree that xanga dying is bittersweet. There are several people on here I’m glad won’t find me again.

    May

  • completely understandable

  • I feel like I need to update my status to say that this is not a good bye to the people I’ve meet on Xanga. It is a good bye to the Xanga era of my life. If it was a good bye to you guys I would just disappear and I wouldn’t have concerned myself with getting your contact information. Even if Xanga does survive, it won’t be the same without the people I have come to consider friends. I would rather go wherever you guys are. Go ahead and call me sappy if you must.

  • @Erika_Steele - Okay, sappy. LOL I’m glad we will still be friends even if Xanga dies. :)

  • Understood and that poem is quite fitting.

  • We’re friends on here… Not close and I don’t think interacted much, but I’m planning on making a wp. I’ll follow you when I do! :)

  • Yes, I feel the same way. From how everyone is acting, I feel like I *should* feel more sad, but I don’t. I’ve opened a blogger.com and a wordpress (I’ll get on later and follow you), and I’ll likely open a writer’s cafe as well, and pick whichever one I like best.

  • @WaitingToShrug - Good. I don’t want to lose touch with you if Xanga does die.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *