Comments (23)

  • While we’re on the subject of fallacies, here’s one that basically sums up this video. Now he’s saying he believes in natural selection but not that nature selects anything… He is attacking simple statements which allude to more complex concepts like “evolution solved x problem” claiming they imply natural selection has a conscious mind when in reality they’re just the only way you can explain complex ideas because otherwise you would have to explain everything over and over again. We say things like “oxygen wants to bond with iron” as a shorthand for the concept of valence. It’s a way to convey a simple idea the reader already understands without repeating a chapter on valence every time you refer to it. These people are dishonest and are just playing word games. It’s akin to me attacking this blog by saying “Every evolutionist in the world did not co-author a book called Blunders Of Reason, so your title is wrong and foolish!” He is deliberately taking statements and figures of speech the wrong way to attack a meaning that he is inventing.This guy is also using ignoring the fact that logic alone is meaningless, a statement can be logically correct but based on false premises and that how we test premises is through science, ie predictions and experimentation. He is pretending there is only logic in order to ignore evidence.I just googled one of the quotes he is attacking:”science is atheistic in it’s outlook and procedures”and I got six results, all from him or other creationists repeating his drivel. These words have literally never been uttered by anyone else even once and are by definition a strawman. As is everything else in this video. He can’t debunk actual science so he has to make up weak fallacies to attack. Similarly you haven’t replied to my long comment in your anti-evolution blog and you post this instead…

  • @agnophilo - ”you haven’t replied to my long comment in your anti-evolution blog and you post this instead”I’m sorry. Did you actually expect me to reply? You should really stop doing that. I will reply to direct questions. I have no intentions of replying to your long drawn out blog length comments though. The answers to all of those things are out there, but you don’t care about that. Why should I waste my time with such a thing when it will do nothing but waste my time? I have already looked into everything you say and it just doesn’t hold water. You are still saying it so it must be enough for you. I’m not still wondering about them and neither are you. If you have a question for me, ask it. Otherwise, don’t expect a reply.

  • @mtngirlsouth - ”I’m sorry. Did you actually expect me to reply? You should really stop doing that.” Well since you posted a public blog and responded to everyone else who left a comment (some of them pretty long), uh, yeah.”I will reply to direct questions.” I asked direct questions. You didn’t reply.”I have no intentions of replying to your long drawn out blog length comments though.” My comment is only long because half of it is quoting your blog. If you cut those bits out it’s roughly the size of the back and forth comments you were having with other people. And you don’t have to reply to every letter of it, but blowing it off is kind of rude.”The answers to all of those things are out there, but you don’t care about that.” I’ve done nothing to deserve your insults. You are the one who proclaims herself closed-minded and proud of it, not me. I would actually want to know if my views were wrong, that is why I’ve changed them in the past.”Why should I waste my time with such a thing when it will do nothing but waste my time?” What you get out of it is up to you. You seem to want to waste your time with the subject a lot though.”I have already looked into everything you say and it just doesn’t hold water.” I thought your mind was “shut like a steel trap”. You seem to want to say you’re open-minded and right while ignoring other peoples’ ideas when it suits you.”You are still saying it so it must be enough for you. I’m not still wondering about them and neither are you. If you have a question for me, ask it. Otherwise, don’t expect a reply.”I did ask questions, you ignored them.

  • @agnophilo - We have a history and I have discovered that discussion with you is more a waste of time than an accomplishment. I don’t care what you think. You have never presented anything new that I have not already looked into. And I don’t care what you think. And I still don’t care what you think. I do not post this to change your mind or anyone else’s. I post this so people who are being similarly intellectually bullied will know they are not alone. And to let people like you know you have no affect on reality, and we all have not fallen for your intellectual dishonesty. But I still don’t care what you think.

  • @agnophilo - I will still answer direct questions, but not when I have to sift through a blog length comment to find them. Not worth my time. And I won’t answer a list of a bunch of questions that will take lots and lots of my time either. Because I don’t believe answering them for you will accomplish anything. But if you ask one or two honest questions, I’ll answer. There is no reason for me to waste a bunch of time writing out long answers to you when I see no accomplishment in it. I honestly believe the reason you do this is just to waste my time, or pick out things you can run to your blog with to make yourself believe you have outsmarted me or some other such silliness. Have at it. I can only surmise that you are unsure of your standing from this, as you seem to be so concerned with what I say to the point that you must run to your own blog and get the reassurance from all your little cronies. Or you just want to give me a hard time. I see nothing productive from any of this though. If you do, please point it out to me. Otherwise, I’ll not bother.

  • @mtngirlsouth - ”We have a history and I have discovered that discussion with you is more a waste of time than an accomplishment.” One, I don’t even remember what exactly we’ve argued about in the past. I know you’ve blocked me a few times. I may have been a dick to you (and you may have provoked that response) but for what it’s worth I’m a lot healthier now than I was in recent years, which makes a big difference to someone who is hypoglycemic in terms of not being irritable and a general pain in the ass when my blood sugar is low. As a result I’m generally a lot more mellow and reasonable these days. Have I said anything offensive or hostile or remotely ad hominem in any of my comments? I’m giving you a clean slate, if you’d do likewise then, well, that would be the christian thing to do, no?”I don’t care what you think. You have never presented anything new that I have not already looked into.” Not to be arrogant, but I doubt that. I’m sure you have discussed some of the stuff before but I got into my own views on theology and science and there was probably one or two novel ideas there.”And I don’t care what you think. And I still don’t care what you think. I do not post this to change your mind or anyone else’s.” I care what you think and don’t care what you think. Meaning I think what we think is important, but not that we reach a particular conclusion. I think how we refine our beliefs is by testing them, which is why I seek out other points of view – to test theirs and have mine tested. It is important to do this, isn’t it?”I post this so people who are being similarly intellectually bullied will know they are not alone.” I know people do bully creationists and I’m sorry for the crap you must take for your views. Note however that I disagree with creationists and take great pains not to generalize, ie “creationists are idiots” and that kind of thing.”And to let people like you know you have no affect on reality, and we all have not fallen for your intellectual dishonesty. But I still don’t care what you think.”I take great pains to be intellectually honest. You call evolution a lie, but do you seriously think everyone who accepts evolution is lying? Even the christians and christian scientists? That darwin was literally trying to trick people? Isn’t that a bit cynical?

  • @mtngirlsouth - ”I will still answer direct questions, but not when I have to sift through a blog length comment to find them. Not worth my time. And I won’t answer a list of a bunch of questions that will take lots and lots of my time either. Because I don’t believe answering them for you will accomplish anything.” If you could at least read the comment I would appreciate it. It may be long, but it is thoughtful and not hostile and brings up some interesting ideas. There’s no malice or condescension in there at all. For most of it I’m not even arguing with you, just talking about the things you were talking about.”But if you ask one or two honest questions, I’ll answer. There is no reason for me to waste a bunch of time writing out long answers to you when I see no accomplishment in it.” Is it so inconceivable that you might get something out of a conversation with an atheist other than converting them? We do have something to offer you know. And even a broken clock is right twice a day.”I honestly believe the reason you do this is just to waste my time, or pick out things you can run to your blog with to make yourself believe you have outsmarted me or some other such silliness.” If I’m not mistaken I’ve generally only mentioned you by name in my blog when you’ve blocked me. I sometimes copy/paste comments into my blog but it’s because I think the conversation is interesting or important, not to get confirmation from others. People agreeing with me doesn’t make me right any more than people disagreeing makes me wrong. If my copying/pasting past conversations has hurt your feelings I apologize, that was not my intention.”Have at it. I can only surmise that you are unsure of your standing from this, as you seem to be so concerned with what I say to the point that you must run to your own blog and get the reassurance from all your little cronies. Or you just want to give me a hard time. I see nothing productive from any of this though. If you do, please point it out to me. Otherwise, I’ll not bother.”I was honestly just after an interesting conversation.

  • *sigh*One thing I won’t miss about Xanga…People who think themselves intellectuals *coughcoughcough* but don’t have the intelligence to discern between fruitful conversation, and just pestering someone because their life as an inbred Kentucky mom’s-basement-dwelling, mountain dew addict is actually enriched by ANY interaction with another human.

  • @Ghillies_guide - Who exactly are you trying to shit on with your stereotypical comment?

  • @agnophilo -  Mostly people who use “stereotypical” when it has no logical, relevant, or valid application.In case that’s too vague for you, since I don’t have any crayons handy with which to explain, I’ll simplify.You, douchebag. It was you.

  • @Ghillies_guide - Yes, well you certainly aren’t being pseudo-intellectual, low-class or just annoying people and you are certainly engaging in fruitful discussion.I suggest you look in the mirror.

  • @agnophilo - OOOHHHH! SCATHING RETORT!I haven’t heard a variant of “I know you are, but what am I?” for at least two decades…Did your mommy help you with that one, or did you remember it from the playground?

  • ITT: People fail to realize you can’t change peoples’ minds over the Internet.—Yao Wentiao

  • @agnophilo - Eh, just let them be. It’ll leave more job openings for our offspring in the increasingly unforgiving world economy.

  • @coolmonkey - I had already decided not to respond.

  • @agnophilo - ”Have I said anything offensive or hostile or remotely ad hominem in any of my comments? I’m giving you a clean slate, if you’d do likewise then, well, that would be the christian thing to do, no?”You have in the past. It is not the “Christian” thing to do. Forgiveness is not synonymous with “clean slates”. Far too many jerks attempt to take advantage of good people with that twist of Christianity. Being wise as a serpent would not permit such a thing. I can give you a fresh start though, because I actually prefer that when possible, and you asked. :) ”I care what you think and don’t care what you think. Meaning I think what we think is important, but not that we reach a particular conclusion. I think how we refine our beliefs is by testing them, which is why I seek out other points of view – to test theirs and have mine tested. It is important to do this, isn’t it?”My ultimate goal is to please God. I have discovered that it is difficult to be politic or PC when doing this. What He says is the authority though. I already know about all the arguments about the validity of scripture and books being thrown out and all of that, and am not interested in hearing anymore about it. I have spent many hours settling that for myself. And it is to be expected that as much discord would be thrown in there as possible if what I believe were true. The way to know what to believe is to be very familiar with His Word, which I am. Matter settled. “I take great pains to be intellectually honest. You call evolution a lie, but do you seriously think everyone who accepts evolution is lying? Even the christians and christian scientists? That darwin was literally trying to trick people? Isn’t that a bit cynical?”Evolution from goo to you is a lie. I do think everyone who accepts evolution is lying – whether they are aware of that or not depends on each case. I have no idea what Darwin was thinking, but I am fairly sure hos motives had something to do with a negative notion towards God. He stole ideas from Blythe and took credit for them himself, and the only degree he ever received was in theology. (which makes me laugh because nowadays he is revered as some great wonderful scientist, and yet, any scientist with actual SCIENTIFIC degrees who deny evolution are cast out.) I admit I mostly just skimmed through your comments because I figured you just want to give me a hard time and I don’t have time for that anymore. “Is it so inconceivable that you might get something out of a conversation with an atheist other than converting them? We do have something to offer you know. And even a broken clock is right twice a day.”You are not just an atheist. I have had plenty a conversation with you. All I ever got from you was a bad attitude and a direct determination to be offended find offense, and never be straight. So I gave up. Converting atheists is a noble pursuit, but I’m not really trying to do that. I spent a long time struggling with “being chosen” vs. free will, and have concluded that a person is going to have to want Christ and nothing I say or do will have any affect on that over all. “If my copying/pasting past conversations has hurt your feelings I apologize, that was not my intention.”It has only irritated me in the past, but I no longer care. Hence the words, “Have at it.” I no longer believe anything I have to say makes any difference to most people. “I was honestly just after an interesting conversation.”Fair enough.

  • @mtngirlsouth - ”You have in the past. It is not the “Christian” thing to do. Forgiveness is not synonymous with “clean slates”. Far too many jerks attempt to take advantage of good people with that twist of Christianity. Being wise as a serpent would not permit such a thing. I can give you a fresh start though, because I actually prefer that when possible, and you asked. :) ”I agree that forgiveness should not be absolute and automatic, and “forgive and forget” should be reserved for people who are not malicious or dangerous (like an abusive spouse for instance). I think “forgive your neighbor 7 and 70 times” is maybe more meant to be inspirational than to be literally followed, though ghandi-like love and forgiveness in the face of real abuse and persecution could have a profound effect, but most people don’t live in that kind of environment in our part of the world today.”My ultimate goal is to please God. I have discovered that it is difficult to be politic or PC when doing this. What He says is the authority though. I already know about all the arguments about the validity of scripture and books being thrown out and all of that, and am not interested in hearing anymore about it. I have spent many hours settling that for myself. And it is to be expected that as much discord would be thrown in there as possible if what I believe were true. The way to know what to believe is to be very familiar with His Word, which I am. Matter settled.”Translation and interpretation are still problematic when it comes to understanding god’s word, assuming there is a god and the bible is his word etc. And in my long comment I was mainly discussing a non-literalist theology which I think is viable. In fact the kind of biblical literalism we have today is, I have heard people claim, a relatively recent theological development, perhaps a reaction to the age of modern science.”Evolution from goo to you is a lie.” The distinction I am trying to make is between something being incorrect and it being dishonest. I don’t think there are a bunch of biologists who know for a fact that single-cellular organisms didn’t develop into multi-cellular organisms and are trying to deceive people into thinking they did. I can’t even fathom why they would do that, especially since most scientists in most fields related to evolution are theists. If only atheist scientists accepted evolution or something that would imply an ideology or conspiracy or something, but it’s not the case.”I do think everyone who accepts evolution is lying – whether they are aware of that or not depends on each case.” I don’t know what you mean by “lying” then. Do you mean lying to themselves? Why would we do that?”I have no idea what Darwin was thinking, but I am fairly sure hos motives had something to do with a negative notion towards God.” He started out as a young earth creationist (and changed his mind due to studying geology) but believed in a creator his entire life. What makes you think he had something against god?”He stole ideas from Blythe and took credit for them himself,” He really didn’t, Blythe had already published his ideas and darwin, like all great scientists, was building on many ideas of his peers. As I believe isaac newton said, “if I have seen far it is because I have stood on the shoulders of giants”. The reality is that great discoveries and inventions tend to happen in clusters and if someone like darwin hadn’t been around the discoveries would have been made a few months or years later. Look into the development and invention of things like telephones, computers, etc, sometimes rival patents for essentially identical devices are submitted within hours of each other. “and the only degree he ever received was in theology. (which makes me laugh because nowadays he is revered as some great wonderful scientist, and yet, any scientist with actual SCIENTIFIC degrees who deny evolution are cast out.)”He was a great scientist. Socrates was a great philosopher – he didn’t have a degree in philosophy though. A degree proves what you know, but the reverse is not true – not having one does not prove that you know nothing, or that you understand a subject less than someone with a degree.”I admit I mostly just skimmed through your comments because I figured you just want to give me a hard time and I don’t have time for that anymore.”Thanks for admitting it, I appreciate it. Feel free to give it a read if you have the time.”You are not just an atheist. I have had plenty a conversation with you. All I ever got from you was a bad attitude and a direct determination to be offended find offense, and never be straight. So I gave up.” I apologize if I was a dick in the past. Though you may have been crummy too.”Converting atheists is a noble pursuit, but I’m not really trying to do that. I spent a long time struggling with “being chosen” vs. free will, and have concluded that a person is going to have to want Christ and nothing I say or do will have any affect on that over all.”I don’t think you can logic your way to believing something that is not logical or believe something based on evidence that must be taken on faith. Most religious conversion happens at a very young age when children have no capacity for skepticism and just accept what they’re taught as true – born-again conversion usually happens (as far as I can tell) when people are going through a very hard time in their lives and they think (or are told by someone else) that faith is the only way out, the only way to feel good about themselves or be a better person or have hope or fix whatever it is that’s tearing them apart inside.”It has only irritated me in the past, but I no longer care. Hence the words, “Have at it.” I no longer believe anything I have to say makes any difference to most people.”If you brought it up it must’ve mattered on some level, so I still apologize.

  • *facepalm* Let’s see…doesn’t understand or care to learn what “theory” means, in a scientific context, before using it in his argument. How he got a Ph.D without understanding that, I can’t even imagine. Maybe there is a God, because “magic” is about the only explanation for it. And in astrophysics, no less?! I really want to discuss that subject with him. Because if all of the stars and galaxies we’ve observed were within 10,000 lightyears of each other, they would behave very, very, very differently from what we observe. Lectures the audience on logical fallacies, while commiting them. (e.g. attacking what he presumes to be “evolutionists” motives, rather than the theory of evolution. He himself later defines that very technique as an ad hominem.)And I loved it when he said it’s a fallacy to claim that the universe seems designed for life, because if it wasn’t, we wouldn’t be here, and then immediately states that the reason the universe seems designed for life, is because it is. He’s so bad at this! To briefly address the issue, it’s been common throughout human history. We evolved the tendency to see ourselves as important, in some objective manner, and presumed that the entire universe was created around us and our needs. But as we observe, we continuously find that not to be the case. We discover that, rather than being at the center of everything, we are passengers on a insignifcicant speck, orbitting one of billions of stars, and though you may not believe it, that we developed as complex entities according to the mechanics of the universe, rather than the mechanics of the universe being specified with human beings in mind. Design must be assumed in order to be proven. Complexity does not equate to design. Complexity is first and foremost, relative. And second, a product of quantity, consistency and time. Any universe, containing a comparable amount of mass, with any consistent manner of operation, over a comparable time span, could very well, and probably would produce a comparable level of complexity, equally intricate, and equally unlikely, relatively speaking.And when he does finally get around to addressing evoultion itself, he’s not discussing the theory of evolution, in a remotely thorough or accurate manner. As I’ve observed literally every, single time someone attempts to discredit it, he is attacking a simplified, incomplete version of it, in a failed attempt to dismiss it. And I laughed my ass off, because he talked about the strawman argument immediately after doing so.I don’t know what to say. If you believe him, you believe him. It’s understandable. As humans, we’re instinctively drawn to validation over knowledge. It’s a difficult habit to break. But to see him define a logical fallacy, and then immediately violate it, or violate it and then immediately define it, time after time after time, it’s as if he is intentionally discrediting himself.

  • It always seems that creationists cant handle debate when its science thats being brought into question.

  • @the_life_of_wife - I don’t know who you’ve been reading, but that’s not the majority of the case. Actual science – that is, not predetermined to come to a specific conclusion – has never conflicted with creation.

  • Perhaps it is as simple as; Evolution is a divine process, conceived, designed and executed by the creator, for the sole intended purpose of allowing our being to occur. The process can be analyzed, examined, categorically disseminated into all of its sets and parts. We can explore it scientifically, using the scientific method. We can expand our knowledge and understanding of the processes and chain of events. Yet there still remains the divine cause, with divine and holy purpose.

  • @Aloysius_son - ”Evolution is a divine process, conceived, designed and executed by the creator, for the sole intended purpose of allowing our being to occur.”And then He lied to us about it in His Word, and also to Moses, TWICE. (SMH)”The process can be analyzed, examined, categorically disseminated into all of its sets and parts. We can explore it scientifically, using the scientific method.”No, we really can’t. It is NOT testable or repeatable. It is ASSumed because some people say X **MUST** mean Y and in no way can ever mean anything else, and anyone that even suggests it might mean something else is blacklisted out of the scientific community.

  • I have witnessed the evolutionary process first hand. It is repeatable. I have experimented with the process in horticulture and seen it applied in animal husbandry. Recognize the truth. God never lies. The problem is we hear what we want to hear and believe what we want to believe and not always the truth. The truth comes to us through Christ, not in the hand of scribes and numerous translators. When you come to know Christ then you shall also know the truth. Scripture is an excellent reference, divinely inspired, but it is incomplete, with regards to the entire complexity of our existence.This is my current opinion, based on study and experience. I am however open to review my opinion in comparison to yours.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *