May 9, 2013

  • Pics @ 70 MPH (Or So)

    First, I have to start by saying I have always loved, loved, LOVED the sky. When I was young my mother read to me the book ‘The Hiding Place’ by Corrie Ten Boom. I no longer remember which one of the girls, but one of them said she really missed the sky after they had been in a concentration camp for a couple years and it had been that long since she had seen it. And ever after that, I paid closer attention to it and discovered just how beautiful it always is. There is always something to look at, and the clouds are never exactly the same twice. And every morning and every night the whole sky goes pink – my favorite color. And it seems after it rains, when it clears up in the afternoon, the sunsets are the best. 

    That’s what happened today. Only, there was a rainbow first. I have taken to carrying my small Optio camera in my purse for just such occasions. So out it was whipped and snap I began. Most of these pics were taken from a moving car.

     

     

    You can click on each one to see a bigger copy.

     

     

    This is the best one of the rainbow:

     

    IMGP0589

     

     

    I cropped it:

     

    Rainbow

     

     

    As we went along, the rainbow faded, but the sun began to sink in the sky. Rick was kind enough to pull over so I could get some shots:

     

     

    5_8 Sunset Pan4

     

    I cropped it:

     

    5_8 Sunset

     

    5_8 Sunset2

     

     

    Then we went on and I began to snap away out the window at 70 MPH or so. I am sure I am more wild than everyone else in my family because they were all freaking out about it. Apparently, my hair was flying out the front window and back in the back window with the kids. They didn’t seem to think that was safe enough for me. Rick was worried about the camera, but I had the string thingie around my wrist – it wasn’t going anywhere. Plus he only paid like $5 for it at a pawn shop. 

     

    And LOOK! I got some GREAT shots!!!!

     

     

    IMGP0601

     

     

    Cropped:

     

     

    Mountains

     

    IMGP0602

     

     

     

    Cropped:

     

     

     

    Mountains2

     

    IMGP0605

     

     

     

    Cropped:

     

     

     

    Mountains3

     

    IMGP0606

     

     

     

    Cropped:

     

     

     

    Mountains4

     

    IMGP0608

     

     

     

    The sun was still setting on the other side of the sky, and so I put the camera over the top of the car:

     

     

    IMGP0610

     

    IMGP0611

     

    IMGP0612

     

     

     

    Then I saw the fog on the mountains and it was so pretty I had to get a few shots:

     

     

     

    IMGP0615

     

     

    Cropped:

     

     

     

     

    Foggie Mountain

     

    IMGP0616

     

     

     

    That’s all I got today. Hope you enjoyed.  

     

     

     

Comments (5)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories

"Government is not reason, nor eloquence. It is force. And like fire, it is a dangerous servant and a fearsome master." -- George Washington

T's Next BirthdayR's Next Birthday

Don't Tread on Me

Lilypie Kids Birthday tickersLilypie Kids Birthday tickers